I will tell you what the Software Drama will be about

I will tell you what the Software Drama will be about

I have been working professionally as a programmer since 2008. I was in different roles - Back-end Developer, Full Stack, Front-end Developer, Architect, Technical Advisor, Tech Lead, and now more and more often as a Cloud Architect and DevOps Engineer.

During this time, I have encountered many problematic situations in projects. These were, for example:

  • Team communication problems.
  • Different aspirations of programmers. The better and the weaker ones.
  • Failed deployments.
  • Data loss.
  • Production errors.
  • Poor project management.
  • Implementing bullshit, e.g. SCRUM in every company project.
  • Programming without a plan.
  • Spaghetti code vs Junior code vs Senior code.
  • Changing processes only for the team leader to meet the metrics and the team to stop working efficiently.
  • Excessive or lacking documentation.
  • A programmer's ego rubs against the cosmos.
  • Or… war about code indentation. Tabs vs spaces?

I have some thoughts. Some are quite common and many of us programmers have them very similarly. Some, however, are not in line with the mainstream. Especially those that contradict many books.

I have worked for clients from the US, UK, Czech Republic, Poland, France, Germany, Ireland, South Africa, and South Korea.

I've worked with programmers from the US, the Philippines, India, and practically every country in Europe.

No matter what country. The problems are similar. They repeat themselves, and we invent solutions anew.

My goal is to show pragmatism and learn heuristics. Not every situation is the same, however, most of the problems I've encountered usually relate to the above-mentioned issues, and they are repetitive.

After more than 15 years of professional programming, I feel like I'm coming full circle. I repeat my ideas many times. Now, I want to refer to specific content by sending a link when there is an opportunity.

Something like.

Hey Mike, check out this article. Here I am writing about the problems we have.

I will present my approach. Perhaps you will often disagree with him. Therefore, answer my statements, let's have a dialogue, let's talk.

This will definitely help us solve our problems in projects better next time.